Empty Nesters

Alas, it seems the little birdies have flown the coop!

Or maybe Mom and Dad moved and just didn’t tell the kids where?

At any rate, the little birds have left.  There were three in that nest.  Sadly, we think, only two of them managed the first flight successfully.   “Houdini” found one on the ground.  She did NOT make it disappear, but rather sadly sniffed and then sympathetically turned her face sideways close to the little bird (now deceased) as if to give it a little farewell hug.  Really was very sweet to see……

(Then again, she may have been ready to ‘roll’ on it.  Really hard to say–I PREFER to think of her as a kind and compassionate Royal, but I do know she is a canine after all, and as they say, canines will be canines.  So I called TMWLH to come dispose of it.)

I try to keep these little episodes in my mind when Houdini decides, at 3:30 a.m., it’s time to get up.  For the morning.  By the time I’ve made a cup of coffee, Houdini is generally asleep on the rug……and I’m wide awake.

So, EARLY this morning, Houdini and I watered the plants and then I watered Houdini………………..who is now taking a nap.  On the rug.

  

Sigh…………..

****************

Leave a Reply

