Banana Bread–an old Recipe from an Old Cookbook

“That cookbook has lost its covers and is pretty shabby!” Jabber commented.

Yes, indeed it is.  I think I have had the cookbook some 50 years or more–and haven’t made all the recipes in it at all.  Likely never will.  The Banana Bread recipe is a good one, though, and I’ve made it over and over for a long time.  It occurred to me I should put the recipe up on the blog and then print it out and save it in my ‘keepers’ recipe file before the pages completely disintegrate.

I never knew a “Nancy Voth,” and in fact, I never was familiar with a sorority known as Gamma Pi.  At one point, however, I did live in New Jersey–until the age of 7 years.  No idea where this cook book came from, either.  The recipes in it, however, are very good and basic for baking–from cookies to pies to cakes to dessert breads to punch.  The one limitation is that many of the ingredients are designated “1 x-sized can of xx” and that size isn’t produced any longer.  I adjust as necessary.

Just follow the directions above–but be sure your butter (I prefer butter, but you might substitute margarine if you wish–I think this book was put together way, way back when butter was very ‘dear’) and eggs are at room temperature and that you do, indeed, beat the sugar (I substituted Splenda today) and shortening (butter) until light and fluffy.  (This may take a while–but it is worth it.)  Often I have some frozen bananas in the freezer and they are perfect for this bread.  Be sure they are completely defrosted, too.  At the end, I added some chopped pecans to it as well–about 1/2 cup.  Walnuts are also good in this recipe.

Hints:

If you are using very cold or frozen ingredients, place on the counter to defrost overnight (do not leave eggs out overnight).  Measure out all other ingredients and prep your bread pan.  Before you begin to make the bread, break the eggs into a bowl so they will warm up a little bit before you add to the butter and sugar mixture.  You will be ready to ‘throw’ this together quickly in the morning!

When it has baked for an hour, use a wooden skewer to test doneness.  Today it was perfectly done at 1 hour, sometimes it takes longer–not a scientist so can’t tell you exactly why.

Let the bread cool completely on a rack–out of the pan.  When cool, wrap tightly in plastic wrap and then foil.  It can be frozen or served the next day, depends upon your needs.  Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

